Manhunt (a brief review)

manhuntInspired by Justin Taylor’s positive review of the book, I decided to give it a go.

What I learned was that you don’t need to be a Civil War buff (or even a history buff) to enjoy Manhunt. James Swanson’s ability to tell a riveting story will pull you through this 496-page historical account of President Lincoln’s assassination and the ensuing hunt for Lincoln’s killer. All you need to do is hang on.


Caution
: minor spoilers ahead

I had not realized that the plot to kill Lincoln was part of a larger scheme to eliminate two other high-ranking government officials. Nor had I realized how close the plan came to succeeding.

Further, I was surprised by John Wilkes Booth’s ability to evade the authorities for nearly two weeks. If he had not made a few crucial missteps, who knows how long the manhunt may have lasted.

Leave a comment